Old Bridge over Rijeka
The Crnojevica River is easily accessible from the Podgorica-Cetinje main road. The beginning of the story of the town is linked to the ruler of Zeta, Ivan Crnojevic (1465–1490), who, in order to avoid the Turkish army, built a fortress and a monastery on Obod. There he transferred his capital from the Žabljak fortress, and the monastery became the seat of the Zeta Metropolitanate.
A small town on the river of the same name
In the town itself, the remains of historical buildings from the time of Ivan Crnojevic have been preserved, such as the basement room of a long-destroyed building, which is connected to the work of the so-called Obod's printing house, where the first Cyrillic book "Oktoih prvoglasnik" was printed in 1494. In addition, the first pharmacy in Montenegro was opened in this area, as well as the first weapons workshop. At the beginning of the 20th century in the "Marica" factory, mother-of-pearl - pearl made from fish scales - was produced. During the 19th and early 20th centuries, the Crnojevica River was the largest Montenegrin port and a leading trade centre. A particularly prized product of this region was dried common bleak due to its uniqueness and exceptional taste, which was also highly sought after on Italian tables. At the entrance to Rijeka Crnojevica is the stone "Danilov Most". It was built by Prince Danilo in 1853 in memory of his father Stanko Petrovic. Next to the bridge, on the left bank of the river, he built a one-story house known as "Mostina", which has been preserved to this day. The oldest preserved building in Rijeka Crnojevica is the house of Saint Peter. Enjoying a visit to this place is complemented by a rich gastronomic offer of authentic fish specialties, themed walks, and kayaking.